Upcoming Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Classroom Strategy Series – Meet The Author

January 10, 2023 @ 9:30 am - 11:30 am

Come meet Singer/Songwriter/Author Ben Sures as he tells his story about his book “The Boy Who Walked Backwards.”  

Ben was born in Regina and lived in Saskatoon, Winnipeg, and Dryden Ontario growing up. As an adult, he has had many homes across the country but now resides in Edmonton. Sures has toured Canada playing shows, festivals, and house concerts since the mid-90s. He has also toured the UK. He is the son of visual artists and comes by his creativity honestly.

For many years Ben played guitar with artists including Dave Mowat in Winnipeg, Dave is Chief of Alderville First Nation and married to Janet Day. Ben emceed Janet and Dave’s wedding and over the years became good friends with Janet who shared her father’s story with him and gave him the blessing to write the song and later the book.

Ben has recorded ten independent albums of music and continues to play music professionally, he is also a part-time painter and presents ‘The Boy Who Walked Backwards’ to elementary school kids integrating music, narration, and questions and answers with the students.

Live Session:            January 10th, 2023
9:30 am – 11:30 am CST / 10:30 am – 12:30 pm EST
Recorded Session:  January 10th, 2023

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
Classroom Strategy Series - Meet The Author5:30 pm – 7:30 pm CST/ 6:30 pm – 8:30 pm EST

Details

Date:
January 10, 2023
Time:
9:30 am - 11:30 am

Organizer

Indigenous Professional Learning Opportunity Coordinators